Kano Pillars FC emerges 2019 Aiteo Cup Champion 


Kano Pillars FC emerges 2019 Aiteo Cup Champion

By: Femi Mustapha

Kano Pillars Football Club on Sunday 28 , July emerged champions of the 2019 Aiteo Cup after beating Niger Tornadoes FC via penalties.

Pillars beat Tornadoes 4-3 in penalty kicks after both teams played 90 minutes in a goalless draw in the match played at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna on Sunday July 28, 2019.

Both teams had piled pressure against each other in both halves of the game, but failed to yield results.

In an interview with newsmen,  Kano Pillars Coach, Ibrahim A. Musa Jugunu said that their opponents were lucky to have escaped with just a goal difference.

“We would have beat them 3-0. They were very lucky and we were unlucky at goals. We won for Kano State people and the governor after 66 years of the trophy eluding us,” he said.

When asked how they feel winning via penalties, he said that last year they lost via penalties, fortunately, this year, they claimed the trophy by penalties.

In the female Aiteo Cup final played earlier at the same venue, Nasarawa Amazons beat Rivers Angels to lift the trophy.

They also won via penalty kicks after both teams played a goal drawat regulation time


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here